Skip to main content

Mid-America Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel



  • Existence: 1974-


The Mid-America Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel (MAEOPP), one of the first regional educational opportunity associations in the country, was founded in 1974 and includes members from 10 states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, and Wisconsin. Other regional associations have since been formed and together comprise the National Council of Educational Opportunity Association (NCEOA).

MAEOPP's primary objective is to ensure excellence, equity, and efficiency in education for students who are economically or educationally disadvantaged or who are physically challenged. Members work in public and private higher education and in state, local, and community agencies. MAEOPP strives to meet the academic, financial, and socio-cultural needs of minority and/or disadvantaged students. It attempts to fulfill its mission by increasing awareness of students' needs among legislators, educational administrators, and faculty and staff of educational agencies.

MAEOPP sponsors a variety of activities throughout the year, including: workshops and conferences in academic instruction, counseling, placement, financial aids, and proposal writing; research related to the needs of minority and disadvantaged students; and the design of effective ways to evaluate programs and ensure their success.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Mid-America Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel (MAEOPP) Records [DOC REC 13]

Identifier: DOC REC 13
Abstract The original order of the collection was maintained, with each series representing a separate section of material  named by the creator. This collection is comprised of 25 series.  The first 24 series represent the years from 1975 to 1997; series 7 and 8 both contain material from 1981. The final series consists of audiovisual material.  It should be noted that there are date spans within the chronological series; for example, series 10, which corresponds to the year 1983, includes documents...
Dates: 1975-2002